Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Writer Resources


I want to pass along some resources.  Some of them you might be very familiar with and maybe others you’ll just discover and find helpful.  These are a few I’ve managed to dig up.  I encourage you to leave your own links if not listed below or comment about those that you do use.  I’ll update posted links under the appropriate headings so you can bookmark this post for later reference.

MARKET SEARCHES
Ralan’s Webstravaganza - http://ralan.com/
Duotrope’s Digest - https://duotrope.com/
Dark Markets - http://darkmarkets.com/

MARKET SUBMISSIONS & DATABASES
Duotrope’s Digest - https://duotrope.com/
Writer’s Database - http://www.writersdb.com/

WRITING RESOURCES
Library Tags - http://www2.estrellamountain.edu/library/tags.html (paste in your text to get a grammar graph)
Absolute Write: http://absolutewrite.com/
Author Network (short story writing) - http://www.author-network.com/sstories.html
Writer’s Market - http://www.writersmarket.com/

THE CLASSICS ONLINE
The Literature Network - http://www.online-literature.com/
Page by Page Books - http://www.pagebypagebooks.com/

WRITING INSPIRATION
Heinlein’s Rules - http://sfwriter.com/ow05.htm
Chuck Wendig (25 Things You Should Know About Rejection) - http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2011/12/13/25-things-writers-should-know-about-rejection/
Writer’s Relief (Famous Author Rejection Letters) - http://www.writersrelief.com/blog/2011/07/famous-author-rejection-letters/
John Steinbeck (Advice for Beginning Writers) - http://www.rjgeib.com/thoughts/steinbeck/steinbeck.html
30 Indispensable Writing Tips from Famous Authors (with pics!) - http://www.buzzfeed.com/expresident/writing-advice-from-famous-authors

Cheers to all of you who have put writing as an everyday/weekly/even monthly goal.  It’s not always an easy thing to do.  It takes guts and dedication, no matter what level you're at.

11 comments:

  1. Many thanks for such a helpful post

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great list, Erin! Wish I'd had them all in one place 3 years ago when I started out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, me too. It's taken me 3 years to compile this : )

      Delete
  3. Thanks for putting all these links in one great place. You ROCK, Erin!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Congrats on your EDF story.

      Delete
  4. Thanks for posting these. Especially intrigued by The Grinder. I like how they didn't hide the fact that they are trying to imitate Duotrope exactly. Their stats and databases look pretty darn similar.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've been using the Grinder and it's awesome. They sometimes experience bugs, but the developers are very quick to respond to assist.

    Submitomancy didn't get their funding, sot he project is dead, last I heard.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great list. Yep, Submitomancy is dead, alas.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I was wondering that. Thanks for the update.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Hey, How are going on?

    I think you posted so effective content about write1sub1.com. This web is very good forum where we can get good element of write1sub1.com. Thanks for your informative posting. As I have How to buy gold bars are key elements for the sensible trader to take into account before making an investment in gold bullion. The following questions should provide as a common guide when making an investment in gold and other gold and gold.

    Thanks For Very Interesting Post.

    ReplyDelete